New Noise

VAR Tugs on ‘Moments’ for Melodic Post-Rock Single

VAR share their latest melodic post-rock single "Moments" via Spartan Records. The track comes ahead of their forthcoming LP, 'The Never-Ending Year' due April 24.

VAR share their latest single “Moments” via Spartan Records which comes on the heels of signing with the Seattle independent label and ahead of their LP, The Never-Ending Year due April 24. What started as a solo project of Júlíus Óttar (vocals, guitar, piano) in 2013, have led to a couple of changes for the Icelandic band throughout the years.

Now comprised of Óttar, Egill Björgvinsson (bass), Arnór Jónasson (guitar), and Sigurður Ingi Einarsson (drums), VAR’s set core thrives on the vibrancy of emotional, indie music. “Moments” though, is an earnest progression that falls from a tier of melodic post-rock, banking on the band’s signature emotional structure.

Featuring expansive, almost theatrical moments, “Moments” tells a tender story, one which Björgvinsson says sets the “tone for the whole album.” Self explanatory to its name, VAR grapples bittersweetly with time and intends to direct its messaging towards a forward-looking joy.

“Lyrically the song is about enjoying moments with the ones who are closest to you; family, friends,” Björgvinsson said in a press release.

High vocal registers break through a cold tone for a crisp delivery, and the track allows each build to quietly fade. While the track is reminiscent of the latter days of 2010’s sonic scheme, “Moments” finds contemporary moments on the almost 5-minute track. A characteristic which one can assume will be prominent on their next release.

The Never-Ending Year will be released on Spartan Records, April 24, 2020 and is available for pre-order here. All pre-orders include an instant download of the song “Moments.”

%d bloggers like this: