Artists Boycott Amazon Festivals with ‘No Music for ICE’ Pledge

Artists boycott Amazon Festivals until they cancel ICE involvement.

Since Amazon Web Services announced they are presenting the Las Vegas music festival, Intersect, many were livid to find out Amazon’s involvement such as DJ and producer The Black Madonna.

On the heels of the announcement, over 175 musicians have raised their voices and pledge to not “participate in Amazon-sponsored events, or engage in exclusive partnerships with Amazon in the future” until Amazon, terminates “existing contracts with military, law enforcement, and government agencies (ICE, CBP, ORR) that commit human rights abuses,” “Stop providing Cloud services & tools to organizations (such as Palantir) that power the US government’s deportation machine,” “End projects that encourage racial profiling and discrimination, such as Amazon’s facial recognition product,” and “reject future engagements w/ aforementioned bad actors.”

It has recently come to light that Amazon Web Services, an Amazon subsidiary with known ties to ICE and law enforcement, is hosting a festival marketed as an experience “where music, technology, and art converge.” We the undersigned artists are outraged that Amazon continues to provide the technical backbone for ICE’s human rights abuses (read more).

As of now more than 175 artists, such as Deerhoof, Ted Leo, Álex Anwandter, Immortal Technique, Speedy Ortiz, Guy Picciotto of Fugazi, Downtown Boys, Xenia Rubinos, Priests, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Riobamba, Evan Greer, Xiu Xiu, Mothers, Sheer Mag, and Jeff Rosenstock, have signed the pledge to boycott until they cancel ICE contracts.

“We will not allow Amazon to exploit our creativity to promote its brand while it enables attacks on immigrants, communities of color, workers, and local economies. We call on all artists who believe in basic rights and human dignity to join us.”

Follow @NoMusicForIce on Twitter for updates and to add your name to the letter, fill out this form.

Current list of artists who signed the “No Music For ICE” letter

Abby Weems / Potty Mouth
Absolute Value
Alex Anwandter
Alex Chips
Alex Edgeworth, Bed Bits
Alex Menne
Alicia Velasquez/Alice Bag
Ally Einbinder / Potty Mouth
Amar Lal
Amber Capwell
Amy O
Andy Chervenak
Angela Seo & Jamie Stewart of Xiu Xiu
Anna Berlin
Audrey Zee Whitesides
Ava Luna
Baby Jessica
Battle Ave.
Boneth Ahaneku
Brian Kupillas
Cam LaFlam
Carlos Truly
Casey Weissbuch
Cave Babies
Chastity Belt
Circuit des Yeux
Clear Channel
corey marc fogel
Cortez disecado
Dama Scout
Damon & Naomi
David Settle
Devon Geyer
Devon Welsh
Don Giovanni Records
Downtown Boys
Dylan Baldi (Cloud Nothings)
Dylan Hanwright
Emily Yacina
Emma Lee Toyoda
Eva Treadway (Pllush, The She’s)
Evan Greer
Flash Trading
Flying Fish Cove
Funeral Cone
G. L. Jaguar / PRIESTS
Generacion Suicida
Geoff Rickly / Thursday
Glen Robinson
Gold Light
Greg Rutkin: LVL UP / Cende
Gregory Cordeira/ Goblin USA
Guy Picciotto of Fugazi
Hannah Epperson
Hannah Moroz
Harry and the Potters
Heaven’s Club
Hether Fortune
Holy Gifts
Hopeful Utopian
Hurray for the Riff Raff
Hurry Up
Immortal Technique
Ivy Gray-Klein, Corey Flood
Jacquie Cotillard
Jeff Rosenstock
Jes Skolnik, Daddy’s Boy/National Tattler
Johanna Warren
John Rossiter
Jon Lipscomb
Jon Samuels, Yowler & Friendship
Jonathan “Bällz” Ramer of The Chode’s, Rotted Remains,Devil Fish,Toxic
jordan c weinstock!, american poetry club / it takes time records
Jordan Lee (Mutual Benefit)
Josephine Shetty, Kohinoorgasm
Julia Shapiro
Julian Fader
Kaeley Pruitt-Hamm
Kal Marks
kamikaze nurse
Kate M. (Hellrazor, The Glow, Potty Mouth)
Katie Alice Greer, Priests / Sister Polygon Records
Kelly Moran
Kiana Saroce
Kliph Scurlock
Krissy Lassiter, Krissanthemum
Kristel Jax, Brigitte Bardon’t
La Neve
Lala Lala
Lee Bains III
Leo Heikkila, Butterfly
Lightning Bug
Lilah Larson
Lily Mastrodimos / Long Neck
lina tullgren
Lisa Prank
Lizzi Bougatsos
Lola Kirke
Lucas Knapp
Lydia Ainsworth
Madeline Babuka Black / Yucky duster
Mason Lynass
Mayah Kadish
Michael Cormier (Friendship, Hour, Michael Cormier, Dear Life Records)
Michael DeForge (Moul D, Creep Highway)
Michael Falcone, Hellrazor (guitar) / Speedy Ortiz (drums)
Mike Caridi / LVL UP / The Glow
Mike Huguenor
mister goblin
Mister Lies
Neilson Family
Nicola Leel
Night Witch
Noah Klein
Owen Ashworth
Phil Harty from Smile for the Sky
Pictoria Vark
Pill Wonder
Privacy Issues
Remember Sports
Rituals of Mine
Rosie Tucker
Sadie Dupuis (Speedy Ortiz / Sad13)
Sam Farzin / Media Jeweler
Sam Gas Can
sammus / dr. enongo lumumba-kasongo
Sarah Tudzin – illuminati hotties
Scooter Jay
Seán Barna
Semaphore Mgmt
Sheer Mag
Spencer VH
Star Rats Records
Stevie Knipe (Adult Mom)
Tara Thiessen
Ted Leo
Terror Pigeon
The Kominas
The Roland High Life
The True Jacqueline
Tim Kasher
Tom Wherrett
Tough Age
Tristan Whitehill (Euglossine)
Troy Colby
Tyler Bussey
Xenia Rubinos
Zach Burba, iji

%d bloggers like this: